It’s Been a Year Since Dolores O’Riordan Died. The Beginning of the End for ‘The Cranberries’

It’s been a year since the untimely death of Dolores O’Riordan, lead singer of The Cranberries. Like many who followed the band throughout their success, I still mourn O’Riordan’s passing. Months later, the world learned that O’Riordan died from accidental drowning while intoxicated in her room at the Park Lane Hotel in London.

O’Riordan was in London recording new music with the band and with collaborators.

Since her demise, band mates Noel Hogan, Mike Hogan, and Fergal Lawler, have been hard at work keeping O’Riordan’s memory alive by putting together an album that features vocals by O’Riordan and that will, unfortunately, be The Cranberries last album.

Today, on the first anniversary of Dolores O’Riordan’s death, The Cranberries released the first single All Over Now from their final album In The End.

In an official statement, Eileen O’Riordan, Dolores’ mother said:

I miss her awfully, specially today, as does the entire family. That said I can't think of a more fitting way to commemorate the first anniversary of her passing and to celebrate her life than to announce to the world the release of her final album with the band. She was very excited about this new album and was really looking forward to its release. I have no doubt that she is happy now and would be delighted with today's announcement.


Work on In the End began in 2017 when Noel and Dolores had written and demoed eleven songs by the end of the year.

Noel said:

we knew this had to be one of the, if not the, best Cranberries album that we could possibly do. The worry was that we would destroy the legacy of the band by making an album that wasn't up to standard. Once we had gone through all the demos that Dolores and I had worked on and decided that we had such a strong album we knew it would be the right thing and the best way that we could honour Dolores.

The album is a farewell not just to Dolores, but to The Cranberries fans who have followed them and incorporated them into the soundtracks of their lives over the last 30 years.

Tracks on In The End:

1. All Over Now

2. Lost

3. Wake Me When It's Over

4. A Place I Know

5. Catch Me If You Can

6. Got It

7. Illusion

8. Crazy Heart

9. Summer Song

10. The Pressure

11. In The End


Stream / Download "All Over Now":


Listen on YouTube:


Pre-order In The End:

Leave a Comment