Fifth Harmony Announce Indefinite Hiatus to Pursue Solo Careers

Fifth Harmony, who have become the premiere girl group of the 2010's, has announced they are going on an indefinite hiatus in order for each of them to pursue solo opportunities.

The band formed in 2012 on the FOX series The X Factor, which each member auditioned as a solo artist until Simon Cowell put them together as a group.  The original lineup included Dinah Jane, Ally Brooke, Normani, Camila Cabello and Lauren Jauregui

Although they did not win the show that season (similarly to One Direction), the group went onto international fame, scoring major hits including "Miss Moving On", "Worth It" and their highest-charting single "Work" which hit number one in the U.K. and made it to the top three on the Billboard Hot 100 charts.

Camila Cabello left the band on December 18th, 2016, however the remaining four continued on as a group and still called themselves Fifth Harmony.  Since Camila's exit, the group still had moderate success, however it paled in comparison to how it was when she was with them.  Camila on the other hand has enjoyed a very successful solo career, hitting number one on the Billboard Hot 100 with her song "Havana" back in January of 2018.

The group penned a heartfelt message to their millions of followers on social media, explaining how they are excited to pursue their own solo opportunities while reminding their fans that they will continue to tour together until the end of the year.

See the full message below:

What do you think?