Which Films & TV Shows Impressed Queer Critics In 2019?

2020 Dorian Awards honorees Renée Zellweger, Film of the Year ‘Parasite’ and Billy Porter (Images via Instagram)

GALECA, the Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics, has announced its picks for the year’s best films, TV and events — and the big winner is Parasite snagging five awards.

One of the best-reviewed films of the year, the South Korean flick was recognized for Film of the Year, Foreign Language Film of the Year, Director of the Year (Bong Joon-ho), Film Performance of the Year – Supporting Actor (Song Kang-ho) and Screenplay of the Year (Bong Joon-ho & Han Jin-won).


“GALECA members strive to determine the best cinematic experiences through the distinct LGBTQ lens, and this year was particularly rich in options,” said GALECA President Diane Anderson-Minshall, Editorial Director of The Advocate

“Yet when director Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite practically swept our awards roster with five wins, I was not surprised. The dynamic, darkly comic drama about a poor family conniving to live the good life speaks to the times we live in, with vivid commentary on class, inequity and even climate change. Parasite is a perfect film for the Trump era.

Also in the mix: Renée Zellweger honored with Film Performance of the Year – Actress for Judy; Antonio Banderas’s stunning performance snatched up the award for Film Performance of the Year – Actor for Pain and Glory; Catherine O’Hara (Schitt’s Creek) was honored for career achievement with the Timeless Star Award.

Billy Porter won TV Performance of the Year – Actor for his powerhouse turn as “Pray Tell” in Pose and Phoebe Waller-Bridge scored in TV Performance of the Year – Actress for Fleabag.


Céline Sciamma’s Portrait of a Lady on Fire was honored as LGBTQ Film of the Year while Cats and Netflix’s The Politician were recognized as the Campy Flick and Campy TV Show of the Year, respectively.

Lady Gaga won in two categories: TV Musical Performance of the Year performing “Shallow” with Bradley Cooper at the 91st Academy Awards and special accolade as Wilde Artist of the Decade.

As a voting member of GALECA, I’m quite proud of not only this year’s winners but the diverse list of nominees. 

Formed in 2009, GALECA aims to generate camaraderie and solidarity in an unsettling media environment, champion constructive film and television criticism, and elevate the craft of entertainment journalism.


Complete list of nominees (winners noted by *):

Film of the Year
Little Women
Once Upon a Time in … Hollywood
Pain and Glory
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Director of the Year 
Pedro Almodóvar, Pain and Glory 
Greta Gerwig, Little Women
*Bong Joon-ho, Parasite
Sam Mendes, 1917
Céline Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Film Performance of the Year — Actress 
Awkwafina, The Farewell
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
Lupita Nyong’o, Us
Alfre Woodard, Clemency
*Renée Zellweger, Judy


Film Performance of the Year — Actor
*Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems
Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
Taron Egerton, Rocketman

Film Performance of the Year — Supporting Actress 
Laura Dern, Marriage Story
Florence Pugh, Little Women
*Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers
Margot Robbie, Bombshell
Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell

Film Performance of the Year — Supporting Actor
Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Al Pacino, The Irishman 
Joe Pesci, The Irishman
Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood
*Song Kang-ho, Parasite

LGBTQ Film of the Year 
End of the Century 
Pain and Glory
*Portrait of a Lady on Fire


Foreign Language Film of the Year
Pain and Glory 
Portrait of a Lady on Fire
The Farewell

Screenplay of the Year
Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story
*Bong Joon-ho & Han Jin-won, Parasite
Greta Gerwig, Little Women
Céline Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire
Rian Johnson, Knives Out

Documentary of the Year 
American Factory
Apollo 11
For Sama
One Child Nation

LGBTQ Documentary of the Year 
Circus of Books 
Gay Chorus Deep South
The Gospel of Eureka
*Scream, Queen! My Nightmare on Elm Street


Visually Striking Film of the Year ** TIE
The Lighthouse
*Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Unsung Film of the Year
Her Smell
Gloria Bell
The Last Black Man in San Francisco

Campy Flick of the Year 
Knives Out

TV Drama of the Year


TV Comedy of the Year
The Other Two 
Russian Doll
Schitt’s Creek

TV Performance of the Year — Actor 
Bill Hader, Barry
Dan Levy, Schitt’s Creek
Jharrel Jerome, When They See Us
*Billy Porter, Pose 
Jeremy Strong, Succession

TV Performance of the Year — Actress 
Natasha Lyonne, Russian Doll
Catherine O’Hara, Schitt’s Creek
MJ Rodriguez, Pose
*Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag
Michelle Williams, Fosse/Verdon

LGBTQ TV Show of the Year 
The Other Two
Schitt’s Creek
Tales of the City 


Unsung TV Show of the Year
Gentleman Jack
On Becoming a God in Central Florida
*The Other Two
Years and Years

TV Current Affairs Show of the Year
Full Frontal with Samantha Bee 
The Rachel Maddow Show
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert
*Leaving Neverland  

TV Musical Performance of the Year
*Bradley Cooper, Lady Gaga, “Shallow,” 91st Academy Awards
Lizzo, “Truth Hurts,” VMAs 2019
Megan Mullally, “The Man That Got Away,” Will & Grace
Annie Murphy, “A Little Bit Alexis,” Schitt’s Creek
Michelle Williams, “Who’s Got the Pain?,” Fosse/Verdon

Campy TV Show of the Year 
American Horror Story: 1984
Big Little Lies
RuPaul’s Drag Race
*The Politician


The “We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award
Roman Griffin Davis 
Kaitlyn Dever
Beanie Feldstein
*Florence Pugh
Hunter Schafer

Wilde Wit of the Year 
(Honoring a performer, writer or commentator whose observations both challenge and amuse)
Dan Levy
Billy Porter 
Randy Rainbow
Taika Waititi
*Phoebe Waller-Bridge

Wilde Artist of the Decade (Special Accolade)
*Lady Gaga
Greta Gerwig
Ryan Murphy
Billy Porter
Phoebe Waller-Bridge

Timeless Star (Career achievement award)
*Catherine O’Hara

Leave a Comment